5 F**K!NG awesome New Year’s resolutions

With the first week of 2015 having just passed, I’m ready to start on my resolutions – especially since this year is going to be an incredible breakthrough! Although 2013 was the worst year of my adult life, I turned it all around in 2014 simply by promising myself that it would be better. Now it’s time to do the same with 2015, the year of my 30th birthday, and face my challenges head-on. Everything seems to be changing, and the things that not long ago seemed so far in the future are starting to become familiar. Even my first wrinkles are no longer disappearing when I stop smiling; they’ve become a part of my story. For women, turning 30 is like turning 40 for men – you start to feel time bearing down on your shoulders.

There’s no time like the present, though, so it’s time to change something! It’s time to accomplish my goals, to go for the gold, and to grow the balls to finally chase my dreams. Will you join me on this journey?

My F**K!NG New Year’s resolutions are:

1.To Be Strong

It doesn’t matter if someone shares the same DNA as me, if they’re older or louder, or if they really think they know better: I will not let anyone try to keep me down this year. I will promise myself that other people’s words of fear will not affect me. This is my most important resolution. Nobody can live your life, and nobody can stop your dreams from coming true if you have the courage to ignore them and reach for the stars.

2. To Trust My Own Instincts 

It’s not easy when you start to float on unknown seas. For me, running my own company is like swimming in deep, dark water full of surprises and unexpected turns. There are no right answers, and each decision could either lead me to the warm sand or cause me to down. For the last few months, I tried to push away my instincts because I was afraid of doing the wrong thing, but there’s no real way to avoid making at least a few mistakes. Honestly, you can’t play safe all the time, and you can’t make an omelet without breaking a few eggs. All we need to do is trust ourselves and have a willingness to fight for what we believe in.

3. To Love, Not Demand

Love is not a conditional feeling that works like a recipe in a cookbook. You can mix bit of this and that, and have a great cake, but love just doesn’t work the same way. Love can be difficult and full of compromises. Love can push you out of your comfort zone. For this year, my goal is to be less demanding and more open to little things. I don’t want to force people to my level, but instead find common ground somewhere in between. No one can be your “other half”, your copy paste twin with all the same goals and feelings, but a loved one should be complementary to you. Don’t be with someone just because you believe you should; be with them simply because you want to.

4. To Be Brave and Make Good Decisions

Life is full of tough choices and nothing can make them easier. It gets even more complicated when you’re at the beginning of a so-called “startup”. As Sean Parker says, “Running a start-up is like eating glass. You just start to like the taste of your own blood.”  This year, I have to have faith in Lippi, and my desire for success needs to be greater than my fear of failure. For us to accomplish what we want this year, we have to be brave and believe in ourselves, even when swimming in a sea full of hungry sharks.

5. To Work Hard and Succeed. 

Success is not a destination, but the road I want to be on. To do that, I’ll need to work hard every day on my business and myself. I want to feel fulfilled and truly alive when I look back and see how far I’ve come, even just from one day to the next. There are certainly many failures and mistakes left for me, but only hard work will keep me focused and able to overcome them. Take the first steps with me this year – together we’ll find determination and stick to it, no matter what.

photo by Katarina Wolnik-Vera 

Great thanks to Ellielove for proofreading

Leave a Reply

